Beware of the block button on official Twitter app for N9/N950
The Nokia N9 was recently released and have received rave reviews. One app that will be used by many is the official Twitter app. I find the app very useful, but it’s still missing some key features like uploading media from the app itself.
There is one feature, actually layout of a button that I am not really keen on: the block follower button. When you open a user profile you will see their name on top, follow/unfollow button next to their name. Below that you would have their biography. If the person is following you or not. There’s also a section that displays their twitter stats: Number of Tweets, Favorite tweets, Number of people they are following and followers.
All the way on the bottom of the screen you will find a back button, that will bring you back to the previous screen and on the opposite end of that you will find the block user button. Since many of us love to swiping on their N9 or N950, you can accidentally press the block button. When you block someone, the blocked icon will be green instead of black.
Just be warned not to be to hasty when you are checking out your follower’s profile and accidentally block them. I believe I have blocked a few users by accidentally swiping or touching the bottom right part of the screen. You will not be able to see their tweets in your time line or DM them.
To unblock someone simply click on the green colored block button and it will turn black once you successfully unblocked them. To unblock a user from twitter page is quite cumbersome.
I believe there should be a warning message notifying that you are about to block the user, similar to when you are discarding a tweet to notify you. I have similar issues with the favorite button on Gravity and something have been favoring tweets by accident.
Hope you enjoyed this article and feel free to comment in the area below.